Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

Although the argument makes valid points on a higher level - that the late-night news program must provide value to its viewers in order to achieve social and economic prosper - the memorandum from the business manager is not cogent and through a range of assumptions, does not provide a strong enough argument to be considered of merit.

First and foremost, the business manager assumes the importance of the received complaints without providing direct data nor a control in their evaluation. Although stating that the program has reduced time to local news and weather, providing the base for complaints, he doesn't state the number of complaints nor the relevance of those numbers in comparison to previous programs. Perhaps only three people had complained. Where 'most' suggesting two disgruntled viewers disheartened by weather coverage. How many people view each program and how many of these people made complaints? In addition, how many complained in relation to previous programs? Perhaps there were fewer complaints than before, suggesting the program could be making positive changes. Therefore It is clear that data would provide clear foundations for the business manager's argument and he should seek data if he desires to solidify his argument.

Moreover, the business manager makes the assumption that the canceled advertising contracts are caused by the lack of weather and local news coverage. He doesn't take into the consideration of context. Perhaps the television station went through a scandal, losing faith from their local advertising partners? Perhaps the local businesses have decided to place their advertising budget on radio, or web advertising. Although in subscribing to single cause bias, the manager could be correct in his assumption, however, his argument does not state a clear understanding of the surrounding context in which many causes could be at fault in the loss of advertising partnerships. Therefore the business manager should make a comprehensive case that considers possible causes outside of his assumptions.

Lastly, the business manager makes the assumption that restoring this weather and local news time will increase viewership. Therefore making the assumption that increased weather and local news time will be of value. Perhaps correct in the intention that people are not gaining enough value from the program, there is no clear argument to suggest that value will come from increased weather and local news time. Perhaps value can be explored in

Therefore, in conclusion, we can understand the business manager's argument from a higher level, realizing that greater value to viewers is likely to lead to greater viewership and thus a greater likelihood of monetary gain from advertising partnership. However, the argument provided in itself is a range of fallacies to which the use of data, the understanding of context and therefore the intention of the argument can give the argument merit and a clearer direction in which the television station can act upon to increase their viewership.