Science and technology will someday be able to solve all of society’s problems.

It is clear from a brief glance at history that technology has the ability to make life objectively better for us all. Interlinked and inseparable, the discoveries and innovations of science and technology respectfully has led us from magnificent things from the wheel to all the way to the international space station & promises of a ‘new world’. Moreover, in everyday life here on earth, the benefits of technology brings objectively greater quality of life meaning there is less need for crime. From economic growth comes stability and the advancement of both science and technology has allowed us to accelerate our connection to one another through the innovations of transport and the internet. However to state that Technology will solve ‘all of society’s problems’ is a naive statement not considering of secondary and tertiary effect and the inherent set of new problems that come with each new solution. We must give room to science and technology but we must be quixodian in considering it to the absolute in solving all of our problems.

The promises of science and technology in solving problems are a real driver in giving purpose to life, figuring out meaning, understanding the simulation that we are in and making ‘positive’ impact - the problems of this general statement to be discussed later. Through these practices, we can build hospitals for the sick and find greater ways to take care of them. We can build machines to explore to the deepest depths of our universe

However, technology is not the absolute answer. Many of societies problems are inherently human to where technology is an amplifier for human behaviour. In technology good behaviour becomes great and bad becomes atrocious. The aeroplane has allowed us to become closer to each-other economically, culturally and socially but was the proponent of 9/11, one of the most horrific terrorist attacks the world has ever seen. Technology is not the absolute.

Even if Science and Technology are able to solve all of the problems society has today, solving these problem inevitably unlocks doors to more consequential problems. Thus one could say it’s a carrot and stick. The aeroplane has brought revolution in the way we were are able to interact with the world and each other, but could the same positive connotation be placed on the deaths and tragedies of air travel? Or the battles fought within the seat of the cockpit, like WW2? It is clear the upsides of tech generally outweigh the downsides but even clearer is the multitude of new problems each new innovation brings.

Therefore, in conclusion; The discoveries of science and the subsequent innovations of technology are absolute marvels - where purpose forms from our ability to create wonderful, new and novel things. However, we can not be naive. Despite technology bringing promise, hope and objectively better lives for all of us, with every new solution brings a multitude of new problems, particularly around human behaviour where technology is an amplifier of the way we are as people. Good becomes great and bad becomes atrocious. Therefore, with an optimistic attitude mixed with a slight skepticism, we can give faith to the abilities of science and technology but not absolutely as the saviour of society.