shrimp

Even though the argument may contain value, particularly in it’s judgement of the impact of human activity on animal welfare, the multitude of assumptions make an argument that can not be relied upon and perhaps overly naive in understanding the complex issues surrounding environmental systems.

For example, the argument almost instantly establishes with an assumption over the cause of the claimed decline, stating that the cause of the decline is diver incursion. This is a fallacy in single cause. Although the author might be correct in suggesting that these divers do have a negative impact on the population of shrimp, he fails to acknowledge the other plausible explanations for this decline. Perhaps indirect human activity in climate change has made the sea climate too hot for the shrimp to survive in they way they did before? Maybe a new predator has been populating in greater numbers this year? The author is perhaps directionally right in his claim but ignorant to the multitude of other causes the could be to blame.

The author also fails to acknowledge time frames and seasonal changes within his argument stating that the ‘recent’ incursions have reduced shrimp numbers. Later stating that the breeding season has not begun. Undoubtedly failing to understand that the measurements of shrimp numbers are being falsely aligned with the happenstance of these incursions.

Moreover, the author makes several more assumptions leading to speculation of the future that these shrimp will become endangered. Stating that over the next few years the ‘trend will continue’ with the decline of shrimp. This argument again fails to be aware of the factors surrounding that could be short term or contextually change. Perhaps laws of diving in the area will change. The shrimp will recover their reproduction rates. There are many factors that can alter a system beyond those that are visible on the surface level.

In conclusion, the author might have a partially true claim in the impact of human activity on animal population, but his tendency to assume and speculate only weakens his argument and creates an argument that cannot be taken seriously. In order to improve his plight, the author must not rely on assumption and single cause but seek to understand the complex systems and possible causes for this decline of shrimp beyond that of divers. This will add strength to his argument. Moreover, the author should be more imperial in his approach, having an argument around data over an extended period of time, perhaps a year of 4 seasons or longer, which would allow him to truly evaluate his claims over more concrete evidence. Rather than relying on speculation, this reliance on the imperial approach would surely add coherency and believability to his argument.