Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions play an essential role to shape and guide students on their career path. In other words, each student has their own wish about their future occupation, even it could be fantasized like being an astronaut or theoretical physicist. In my opinion, instead of dissuade them from chasing what they really passionate about, these institutions should support students to realize which fields they could choose according to their hobbies, personalities, characteristics and skills. thus, I strongly disagree with this claim with two reasons. To begin, how do any educational institutions could guarantee that if students choose this field, they would not success in the future? Moreover, how could they dare to define what is success, it depends on personal perspective, for some success is just only the happiness when pursuing what they really love. thus, forbidding someone to follow his or her dream job would be prevented. For instance, a student keen on cosmology who has a dream being an astronomer, but just because opportunities of this occupation have a low demand, by the time he enrolled in his university, they guide him to learn computer science just because the plethora of lucrative job opportunities. after graduated, he might spend days staring in computer screen and dream about stars, milky ways , etc. it could be true that maybe he has a stable job with high income, . In addition, he might always wonder what differences could be made if he insists to follow his dream during his work shift, this could lead to decreasing work efficiency.

Secondly, maybe some fields are considered to produce various successful opportunities recently would be outdated in the near future. Besides, there is no assurance that after years spending in schools or universities, the job market remain unchanged. For example, in Vietnam about 6 years ago, there were many government plans to build nuclear power plants along the country. At that time, there were hundreds of high school students who was sent to Russia to get knowledge about this technology. these students hardly knew anything about this field, let alone the job opportunities when they would graduate in the future. However, because of recent nuclear accidents like Fukushima disaster, the plans to build nuclear power plants were suspended. after this event, there was an interview established to ask these students whether or not happy with his or her choice, surprisingly, most of them keen on completely different specializations such as civil engineering, information technology or even art, history, literature. The above example illustrates that job market is highly precarious upon unpredictable factors.

Of course, some could argue that there are many unemployed around, those who dare to pursuit their own wish, and in the end, they still are nobody because of not following what their schools or universities suggested. but future is unstable, if they persist to chase what they love, success would come one day.