Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in

which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you

should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how

these consequences shape your position.

In everyone' s life, there are numerous moments where a decision lays the path of one' s future. The first moment for most is choosing the field to study, it is of utmost importance that the right decision is taken. While it is true that educational institutions can help guide students on which field will be the best fit on the other hand it would be wrong to just stop them from pursuing the field of their choice, the final say should always be of the student. This essay projects my thoughts on this subject.

The role of an educational institute is to shape the minds and personalities of the young minds under their umbrella, in this process the institute is always on the suggestion side of the decisions and not the deciding factor, especially when the decision will affect the student' s life. While deciding the choice of study, the institute can help students to make themselves aware of the implications of each choice, however, the final say should be of the student only. Instead of restricting them, certain prerequisites can be placed for each field of study so that whoever chooses to pursue the field will get a taste of it before they actually enter the course.

While it is true that if no one is present to object to the choices a novice mind makes, the implications might be too harsh. The view that the institute helps the student save time and effort when they trim the choice to a limited set of fields that might be perfect for the student but at the same time they are taking away the decision-making power of the student and deciding based on statistics which can't be trusted all the time. The student might not be interested in that field anymore, or one might want to change the field just because they got the idea that the recommended field may not work. Always the better option is to lend help so that the student can gain the required knowledge for the field they want to pursue.

To sum it up, educational institutes can only place certain pre-requisites for each field to study to make sure that someone without prior knowledge of what they are going to face does not make a wrong choice but they can't pursue anyone to leave their interest and choose something else just based on statistics.