Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions play an essential role to shape and guide students on their career path. In other words, each student has their own wish about their future occupation, even it could be fantasized like being an astronaut or theoretical physicist. In my opinion, instead of dissuade students from chasing what they really passionate about, these institutions should support them to realize which fields they could choose according to their hobbies, personalities, characteristics and skills. Thus, I strongly disagree with this claim with two reasons.

To begin, how do any educational institutions could guarantee that if students choose a particular field, they would not success in the future? Moreover, it is hard to define what is success, it depends on personal perspective, for some success is just only the happiness when pursuing what they really love. Thus, forbidding someone to follow his or her dream job would be prevented. For instance, a student keen on cosmology who has a dream to be an astronomer, but just because the job market for this profession has a low demand, by the time he enrolled University, they guide him to learn computer science just because the plethora of lucrative job opportunities. After graduated, he might spend days stare at computer screen and dream about stars, Milky Ways, etc. It could be true that maybe he would have stable job with high income. In addition, he might always wonder what differences could be made if he insisted to follow his dream during his work shift, this could lead to decreasing work efficiency.

Secondly, maybe some fields are considered to create various successful opportunities recently would be outdated in the near future. Besides, there is no assurance that after years spending in schools or universities, the job market remains unchanged. For example, in Vietnam about 6 years ago, there were many government plans to build nuclear power plants along the country. At that time, there were hundreds of high school students who chose going to Russia to get knowledge about this technology. These students hardly knew anything about this field, let alone the job opportunities when they would graduate in the future. However, because of recent nuclear accidents like Fukushima disaster, the plans to build nuclear power plants were suspended. Consequently, most of students could be unemployed. The above example illustrates that job market is highly precarious upon unpredictable factors.

Of course, some could argue that there are many unemployed around, those who dare to pursuit their own wish, and in the end, they still are nobody because of not following what their schools or universities suggested. But future is unstable, if they persist to chase what they love, success would come one day.