Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In order for an institution to give students the best possible opportunity to succeed in their academia career, they should be more open about what type of job opportunities, further education, and job outlook for their major. However, many fields of study often go hand in hand together, and while they may not work on their own, they may work together very well.

For instance, a philosophy major on its own, does not yield many job options after graduation. However, many students pursue a philosophy major or minor with natural science degrees. Often, because they align well with students pursing jobs in the healthcare industry.

But there are more majors that often don’t work well on their own, or the jobs are rare. Unfortunately, institutions are not in the business of making sure everyone has a successful life. They often want students to pursue whatever major they choose and make the university look good by doing research, pointing other students towards the university, and giving them good publicity in general. With this in mind, universities are not concerned with the welfare of their students, are more so with the welfare of the university itself. There are many scams, such as the crisis of for-profit universities, that scammed students into doing four years of education but they could not get the job the degree was supposed to secure them. While it is necessary to do your own research on what type of job you want after graduation, some should fall on the university such as certain accreditation and following licensing procedures.

However, the world is constantly changing, and students should be aware of the job outlook of the career of choice. Universities cannot be held responsible for the job market and careers that are available today, may not be tomorrow, and it is very possible, many graduates will hold jobs that didn’t exist 5-10 years ago.

Students also need to keep in mind, that extensive schooling does not do the work for you in the job market. It is also common for people to succeed in jobs that may have required a degree, but they have extensive knowledge of that field and may not need a degree. There is a common saying that, “it’s not what degree you have, it’s what you do with your degree.” You can have an extensive academia record, but if you are not willing to put in the work, or don’t have the capabilities to succeed after graduation, your degree will not mean anything.

Both universities and students should be held responsible for students success after graduation and beyond. Things like accreditation, licensing procedures, and degree requirements should be left to the university. But job outlook research, job opportunities, and personal success and growth should be left to the student.