Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Education sector is the primary sector from which the future leader of a country is created. As it is primarily responsible for shaping the country’s future by providing it productive pool of individuals so it definitely has the responsibility to direct its students for choosing their career in which they are likely to be succeeded in and thus uplift their country’s overall progress.

Different countries in the world have different education systems. In most of the countries in the globe, students enter into their alma mater at a very young age. In many cases, teachers of the school become their main motivator who teaches them life skills and suggest them well for planning their future ahead apart from academic teaching. So, students are likely to fall in a dilemma in their upcoming career challenges if they are not suggested well from their academic motivators. That is why, institutions in developing and developed countries organize seminars, workshops and conferences so that students can plan their career before they are graduated from their school.

In addition to that, looking at a developed and exemplary country China, government focused on Artificial intelligence and computer vision in their research institution and created a mandate on providing ample government fund on this research topic. The idea was to drive young generation into this bleeding edge technological sector so that they can keep pace with the world as well as become successful at their work. As a result, Chinese students and researchers now holds world’s top position in terms of research publication, falling behind the previous record holder, USA by a large number. So evidently, educational institution had great impact on this success because without the motivation and fruitful instructions from respective institutions this success would not be possible.

On the other hand, some people can argue that, in this modern era of internet and connectivity students can smartly take their career decision on their own without even having certain suggestions from the institution. That seems well defined logic to some extent, but we should also keep in mind that internet is not only comprised of all good things, young graduates can also affect with seemingly attractive careers in media sectors such as modeling and acting without having known their own passion and talent, for example. As a result, they are likely to be affected pretty badly and struggle very hard for their living in their upcoming phase of life. In case of USA, most of the native students do not really care about what their alma mater suggesting them to do, rather they do what they like and some really succeed in it and some not. Practically thinking, in this era of so many opportunities and careers, it is really tough to find one’s passion and work on it for a long time until one become successful in it. In most of the cases, it is better to be instructed well from the institution so that one can stick to one thing, rather than trying out one thing after another to find one’s passion and interest.

Finally, educational institution cannot impose certain careers to students but they can definitely help them out by suggesting individuals’ specific careers according to their interest and passion in which they will likely to be succeeded in. In that way, students can do their time management well enough and stick to a specific goal in their life. They might suffer at the shorter run and become frustrated sometimes, but in the longer run if they hustle for it, they are likely to become successful individuals in their respective field.