Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

Educational institutions play a significant role to make a person educated. They encourage and prepare a person for a successful future career. Thus, they have a great responsibility to guide their students to a path that will bring him success. Having said that, in my opinion, they should not dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I strongly disagree with the prompt for the following two reasons.

Before stating any counter-logic, we have to take into account the fact that not every person is equally talented or gifted. Some of them are extra-ordinary and just like that, not every person’s gifts bloom at the same age. For many of them its “Morning shows the day” and many are late bloomers. For instance- one of the greatest scientist Albert Einstein. He was not that good in math and physics in his early childhood and was even discouraged to continue his study in school by his teachers. When he published his infamous “The Theory of relativity” which brought him the worldwide fame, he was just a post office clerk. Hence, in his case, if he accepted his fate by agreeing with the school’s suggestion that he should not continue to study complicated subjects like mathematics or physics, these subjects as we see them now would not be the same that’s for granted. Therefore, those students who are late bloomers, it can be a destructive decision for their potentials to dissuade them from pursuing fields that seems unsuccessful for them initially.

Another reason would be this dissuading would be same as snatching away the freedom of choice from the students. Nobody knows in which subjects or fields he/she will get his/her drive and shine in the future. For example- One of the greatest musicians of all time Betoven was completely deaf, yet he composed some extra-ordinary and exquisite music compositions that are still praised. Thus, if his school were to dissuade him from studying music, which relies greatly on the ability of hearing, he would not find his love for music and that would be crime to snatch away that love.

Although it is true that a high risk lies if a student pursues the fields that he is unlikely to succeed. But that elicits the definitions of success. Is success means earning as much as money as you can but staying empty inside? If a person can’t pursue what he likes, if he is not given the freedom of exploration, how can we be sure that he will become successful even if we do assign him to the best profession that he fits into? He can still be feeling worthless and get bored in his job. This would be the reasons that educational institutions should never dissuade students rather encourage them to explore as many fields as they can before entering the competitive professional sector.