Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are entrusted with the responsibility of enabling their students to achieve success in their academic and professional careers. This might be a basis for the statement claiming that educational institutions must dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. However, this implies that some students are incapable of entering and succeeding in particular fields. It is important to keep in mind, that with the right training and by inculcating the right skill set, any individual can flourish in the field that they desire. Moreover, people tend to be better at a job that they are passionate about. By dissuading students from pursuing certain fields of study, educational institutions risk squashing a student’s passion. Instead of discouraging a student from entering the field that they desire, educational institutions must lay out the pros and cons of the particular field, and provide the student with information and skills that will prove to be helpful in that field.

While it may be argued that some fields have a narrower scope in the job market and students must stay away from those fields, it is ultimately the student’s choice and not the educational institution’s. After being made aware of the facts concerned with the particular field, if a student still wishes to pursue it, the educational institution must be supportive of the decision and help the student develop the skillset and acquire the knowledge that would contribute his or her success in the field.

For instance, if a student is passionate about social work and wishes to pursue that as a career, the educational institution could help the student develop skills that are central to this field. These may include communication skills, knowledge on fundraising and so on. Merely providing the student with a list of books on the particular field could be immensely helpful too.

Dissuading a student from following a particular field of study could also have other detrimental implications. It could result in a loss of confidence and self-esteem, and other deep-seated mental health issues.

To sum it up, educational institutions must encourage students to follow their passions and enable them to succeed in their chosen field of study. Providing students with appropriate resources and skills can go a long way in ensuring their success in even the most niche fields of study.