Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

The given context says that educational institutions have responsibility to dissuade students or persuade them to not pursue those courses in which they are unlikely to succeed or fail. I agree with the authors context because i believe that educational institution plays a major role in both graduation and the career the student might be in the future . As our society strongly believes that a good institution will provide good education and provide more career opportunities for students to get placed in the corporate companies .

In my view, a student who is about to enter a university or an college is like a amateur and they don't have any idea of the society outside. Thus, it is more likely that they will make mistakes and will be easily manipulated by the ideas and opinions of others. They might as well be scared in pursuing their dream in confusion of whether they will get succeed or not . Thus, i strongly suggest that educational institution must guide the students who were about to join by interacting with them and giving more examples to make them clear about what they were about to do .

Since the world is growing , the entertainment industry is playing a vital role in peoples choices and they were manipulating those viewers by giving false advertisements.

For example those X named institutions in India is displaying those advertisements saying about all those ranks and marks in important exams and this is the main thing those students were infatuated by those advertisements and they were willing to do that course instead of the course in which they were interested. So, in my opinion this kind of publicity must be stopped and those institutions provide timely knowledge about the career opportunities etc.

In another scenario, may be it was seven or eight years ago a movie named " Happy Days" , influenced those youth in that period and they were infatuated by the college life shown and the percentage of students pursuing engineering in that period gradually increased during that period , most of them were failed because they were only focused on the enjoyment rather than their passion. So , in order for them to avoid those silly mistakes and ruin their lives they must be guided by the educational institution before they were entering the stream.

Thus i conclude that it will be helpful for the students to be guided by the educational institution and they will have a clear cut understanding of what they were doing or what kind of crisis or about the opportunities available in that particular stream . This will create an awareness among the students and they will take a decision about the stream or career they were pursuing rather than on passion and misguidance given by people outside . Also, it will help them understand how the society outside is and the competition for the opportunities they will have in future . This will provide awareness and increase seriousness among the students to choose the right path and be succeeded.