The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has become a significant problem in modern world. Increase in the number of obese people is maximizing the pressure on healthcare system. Few think that the most effective method to handle this problem is adding physical education to the school curriculum. This essay will discuss how introducing physical education alone will not help in decreasing obesity.

Firstly, diet plays an equally important role in avoiding obesity. Growing number of packaged food and high sugar contents in junk food has a significant impact on health. Additionally, such food items do not provide the necessary nutrients required for growth and nourishment of our bodies. For instance, processed food is very attractive and easily available at low prices at every school canteen. Students prefer these over homemade items for everyday lunches. Hence, making healthy food available will reduce this problem to a huge extent.

Secondly, motivation is highly necessary to maintain good health. As much as body positivity is encouraged in today’s world, it is also important to educate and motivate individuals on the ill effects of having obese bodies. Without a zeal to maintain a healthy lifestyle, it is natural to fall back into old ways and lead an unhealthy life. For example, a recent poll has stated that 78% people have attempted to eat healthy but went back to their old method. Therefore, being motivated to be healthy is very important to prevent obesity.

To conclude, I would say that though having physical education introduced into school routine will help in avoiding the issue in hand to some extent, there are other factors that should also be considered to eradicate the problem.