In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The power of imagination was once considered unimportant or even defying social standards before the liberty of the mind. However, as time passed and novel creations pushed our society along in previous unthinkable ways, people value creativity more than ever before, to the point of considering imagination to be more important of knowledge. However, imagination rarely helps without the guidance of knowledge, as shown in the arguments below, so I cannot concur with this claim.

Firstly, creativity is welcomed in many areas of study, but unbounded creativity creates more problems than it solves. Consider some of the more precise sciences, such as physics and chemistry, the subjects most found to be in place at universities. It is true that innovation is often critical to the creation of new theories and other similar breakthrough, but the consensus is that the ability of a certain theory to make predictions about reality, and the procedure of finding evidence for the theory is what truly constituents modern science. As a consequence, the know-how provided by diligent work in student years and the experience provided in actual work is what truly makes science scientific. Without the power of knowledge, not only is one incapable of research in a useful way, but it would possibly lead to numerous crank theories that circulates in the internet, that undermines public understanding of science to this very day.

Secondly, even in areas that need creativity the most, the skill required in expression of this talent is still greater than many imagined. Art such as music and paintings have always been seen as a model of the importance of creativity. Before the renaissance, artists created their works based on rigid rules of experience, but all of the talents of those times seem outdated compared to the brilliant modern works that take imagination more seriously. However, even in this area, heavy debate about unbounded imagination persists. Famous works such as those by Picasso may seem to contain little traces of knowledge, but on closer examination one can see the incredible skills and techniques hidden inside. Some contemporary works of art contains less knowledge, and is praised by some to be out of ordinary, but other experts warn of the dangers, arguing that these works are no more valuable than the creations of toddlers, showing imagination without any inside purpose. No matter the case, knowledge and skill is still crucial to anyone wishing to become a master of some field of inquiry.

Such is the argument about the relations between knowledge and imagination. At the very least, knowledge is useful on its own right, but less can be said so for imagination. Without the support of knowledge, in most academic and professional fields, imagination may well do more harm than good.