Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts

Everyone would agree in principle that in schools, there are different methods of teaching. Amon the many methods is the instructing of students to go through learning materials before , being taught by the instructor in class. Imposing an exclusive learning method would be counterproductive, considering students are different, and thus require different approaches to learning. For this reason, teachers should encourage students to study concepts beforehand, but should not be made compulsory so as not to disadvantage students who may face difficulties.

Experience tell us that students tend to study harder when instructed to do so. Asking students to read materials beforehand is a great way to ensure that studies are taken seriously. Students get encouraged to assiduously read through given materials so as to fully understand and answer questions when asked by teachers. In the American school system, this method is practiced. Students are given handouts to read in advance, and records show that students spend more time studying than they did previously before the system was introduced.

One must admit as well that students having preexisting knowledge of a topic makes work easier for the educators. Teachers are not burdened with explaining concepts that are easy and already understood by the students. Instead, the teacher spends more time explaining what was not understood by the students during their individual study. Students are able to identify areas of strength and weakness before the lesson. Instructors can then know areas to fully focus on. Furthermore, classes are more engaging as students already have some knowledge of what is being explained.

Experience tells us students have different abilities. Some students are naturally intelligent and so can thrive under this system. Some students, however , may not posses the intelligence to understand concepts on their own. Tasking such students with such an assignment will work at their disadvantage. Most high schools in China discourages teaches from tasking students with reading beforehand so as not to disadvantage students who need teachers guidance to fully grasp concepts. The idea is that students can use the time to study already taught lessons and concepts. In turn , records show that Chinese students generally outperform their peers from other countries in academic competitions. Thus, it can discerned that this method is highly efficient.

Furthermore, the proposed idea is time consuming for students. School, regardless of the level is a time consuming. Students are required to attend classes . write assignments, and study. The time allocated to study should naturally be used to study already taught concepts. It would be imprudent to use the meagre study time to understand concepts not yet taught instead of revising already covered topics. learners may end up not recalling already taught lessons in order to keep up with demands of teachers. In south Africa, where students are encouraged to study more of already taught lessons, students are able to recall that information for long periods of time.

In conclusion, asking students to read ahead should be encouraged as it motivates students to study hard, and lessens the burden on teachers. However, it should not be made compulsory as students have different abilities and this order will disadvantage students who require explanations from teachers to fully understand concepts and will ensure that students have more time to study topics already taught.