The first step to self-knowlege is by rejecting the familiar

It takes a whole lot to come to self consciousness and awareness of one's main existence. The prompt suggests that the initial step to self-knowledge has to be when one firstly abandon what seems to be familiar. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompt that abadoning the known and obvious isthe primary step to self-recognition. My stance on this would be further elaborated giving three reasons.

To begin with, getting to that point of self-recognition is not an easy task, a lot of intended and conscious effort has to be put in place. Indeed, rejecting of what seems to be familiar can be so helpful in recognizing one's ability. In other words, putting things that seem obvious to oneself away and creating time to think and analyze one's inner mind can really go a lot in recognizing one inner self. For instance, for a person born in a home filled with doctors, while growing up he/she might feel the need to go into similar part since that's the major career field she grew up knowing and understanding by her family. However, that might not be such person zeal, he/she might have an ardent for art probably, but because she grew up in a home filld with doctors she's then inclined to thnk such area is the best for her. In a case where such person gets to mingle with the outside more and get to explore other crafts you would see such person inhibiting unusual crafty aspect. A perfect example is Funke Akindele, she is currently a actor, she only pursuit this career path after her time at the University, when she got more exposed to other career path that were not known to her before gaining admission, and she's doing brilliantly well in this path. Perharps, if she didn't get to explore other part of life she must not have known she had a 'thing' for acting.

Also, neglecting the familiar is cardinal while in the process of self- knowledge. If one fails to acknowledge the fact that there could be joy in unfamiliar areas, one would be trammeled and constricted to the area known to them without even deriving joy from there. A case sample can be taken from the men in the world who came up with diverse scientific researches on how, what, and why the world evolves, I mean those who come up with novel and underivative ideas, if they had not think outside the box and simply confine themselves to things that made sense to them then, we simply won't be in a world as we live in today. If these great men then didn't think contradictory to what the rest of the people thought, we would simply be living in the dark on how the world is suppose to function. The man who invented tec

Furthermore, another case study can be taken from the academic world- where scientific research has become the order of the day. Professors won't rely on a person speculation or theory merely because they say so, instead you would see them trying to prove a contradictory result to that theory. This particular method has been the major order of the academic world and that's why researches are still carried out today. Even previous research work are been called to question by recent experiments. This has made us humans have a new thinking from what we originally thought was right to what is indeed true. In this case, the professors not considering the norms has helped enhanced the scientifc world bringing more self awareness to research in that field.

In conclusion, while it's indeed true that that one's true self might reflect when think of what's going on around, it makes greater sense and even more efficacy when we abandon what we know and then focus on others to discover what we can do, and bring out our self minds.