“Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue is concerned about whether government officials should follow the public's will or follow the decisions on their own judgement. It is clear that these officials are either nominated by someone who was elected by the public or directly elected by the public. Whatever it is, the officials have close relationship with them. However, even with this relationships, it is necessary for officials to follow their own judgment.

Admittedly, most of the government officials are nominated by the politician who are elected by the public or directly elected by the public. Therefore, it is mandatory for government officials to follow the demotic will. It is a nonsense to renouncing the demotic assertion since it might be nullifing the official's fundamental. Moreover, there are some cases, for example South Korea's former president Gunhae Park, that the officials are impeached by not following the public wills. Therefore, it might be reasonable for officials to grant public wills.

However, following the majority of people's will might lead to unwanted result. This circumstances can lead to populism which is critical in managing the government. In the case of Argentina, their former president made several government policies to grant public's wills resulted a catastrophic economic crisis that led to severe inflation. Moreover, in the case of Venesulela, this problem became so serious that became a economic calamity. The people living in that country cannot afford simple essential product leading a total distruction of the country.

Moreover, the government officials typically have more access on some information that normal people do not know about it. Since the officials know more about the specific situation on to it, it is likely to make more rational decision than the public. For example, millitary related information is strictly confidential, it is likely that the government officials to take better decisions than the public does. It might be necessary to persuade the public for that decision, but the decision should not be influenced by public.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the officials should follow the public's will since their origin is based on the public. However, there are many cases that did not go well on just following the public needs. Moreover, there might be some discrepencies that the decision made by the public and the officials. Since the officials normally have more information about the specific event, it is necessary to make decisions on by itself, seperating from public's wills.