A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument asserts that as the use of salicylates rise, the twenty-year headaches on Mentia residents should suffer fewer headaches. However, the argument has several unsubstantiated assumptions as is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the argument assumes that since the salicylates are the members of the same chemical family as aspirin, it will reduce the headaches on the residents of Mentia. However, to make this assumption accepted, there must be direct relationships between salicylates and mollifing headaches. Just because the salicylates are in the same chemical family as aspirine does not mean it has same medical effect. Therefore, the argument must suggest a direct relationship between the salicylates and the headache.

Secondly, the argument points out that since the commercial use of salicylates, like the use of preservatives and the flavor additives, rises the residents who suffer headache will decline. It substantiates its assertion by adding a statistics that the rise in the commercial use of salicylates resulted a decline in average number of headaches. However, the argument does not consider other possible interpretation on this event. Perhaps, other possible remedy for headache has been suggested. Moreover, there might be a new solution on certain types of headache cause, like the bad air condition. Thus, the increase of use of commercial use of salicylates does not mean that the consumption of salicylates will rise. There must be an extra information about the actual consumption of the salicylates in Mentia. Furthermore, developing new food additives using salicylates does not mean actual increase in production using it. There might be other research for mass producing it.

Finally, the argument asserts that the headaches will diminish even further in Mentia. However, the assertion relies on weak assumptions. Even with the pervasive use of salicylates there is no direct explanation about how much the people in Mentia consumes it. Just because salicylates is contained in every food product, does not actually lead to increase in consuming it. Moreover, there must be a research result about how much salicylates will soothe headache. Without this information, the assertion above cannot give logical explanation.

In conclusion, the argument's assertion that the resident who suffer headaches will decline, relies on weak evidence and unsubstantiated assumptions. Therefore, the argument fails to give logical explanation about its assertion.