Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement cites, the government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve. Government officials are appointed to serve a specific duty of the society so that people can avail certain government provided facilities easily. Hence, the officials are appointed for the people of the society they should carry out the will of the people they serve instead of relying on their own judgment.

In our society, due to the lack of information and not easy to reach officials who can help, lots of people are deprived of the government implemented schemes. For example, if somebody wants to avail for education loan from a government bank which as better advantages than private sector banks and if the application does not seem appropriate to the concerned official based on his own judgement most likely it would be rejected. But the government has already a set of predefined rules to approve specific applications. Instead of using their own judgement if government officials follow those rules and the applicant adhere to those rules then he is eligible for the particular loan. In this way, it will bring more interest to people to access the government facilities.

Furthermore, if government officials start relying on their own judgment it will unlikely serve the purpose for which and for whom they are appointed. For instance, if a certain company go to avail approval for setting up a new factory to the particular region. Though if that company submits valid documents needed but according to the officials own judgment if they think the factory may cause pollution and environmental damage hance does not grant permission. If the officials think it can cause potential damage they may request for government enquiry if not done before instead of rejecting it upright, if there is any such rule to initiate such enquiry at that stage. In this case, it may cause the potential damage to the society if the factory would not set up as the new factory could create new employment and boost the economy. Thus such implementation would not be advantageous.

In conclusion, all government officials should follow the rules defined by the government to carry out a particular task instead of relying on their own judgment and should unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve if they adhere to those rules.