Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future

The citizens of a nation rely on the government for their problems to be solved because it is the government which is well-informed about every aspect of the country and possesses the required resources to tackle every kind of conundrum faced by its people. I feel that by solving the anticipated problems of the tomorrow, can the government solve the problems of today. Its like a game of chess, wherein the player's current move is result of his thinking of several steps ahead.

Let us consider the recent mishap experienced by the migrant workers during the nationwide lockdown. Announcement of the sudden 21-Day Lockdown by our Prime Minister and implementation of stringent measures of keeping people at their homes had indeed helped in declining the number of coronavirus cases in our country, thus solving the problem of the everyday rise in cases and deaths. But, the government had not anticipated the situation of the migrant workers. Providing them with food, shelter and safe transportation facilites was never included in their blueprint. Had the concerned authorities foreseen the worse condition of the migrant workers and made necessary requirements for them, many lives would have been saved. Due to dearth of resources and no transportation facilities, many migrant workers had been crumbled under the wheels of vehicles on the roads and highways.

If a government feels obfuscated about what could happen next , then they can always consult professional Data Scientists, who are specialized in using computer programs, machine learning and mathematical models based on the given data to accurately predict what could happen in the future of a nation. Will the coronavirus cases surge? Which state requires more face masks? How many more beds are required for the COVID-19 patients? The answer to all these questions are with these professionals. This way, the government can act accordingly. It should invest its money to take necessary precautions: to keep its people safe, because it is always health and safety before wealth.

To conclude my essay, I would say that if the government can presage the problems that could arise because of the problems of today, it would be successful in tackling firstly, the current problems and sequentially, the problems anticipated by them.