Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

A student's course of study should be designed according to the student's goals and aspirations. Therefore, I do not think it will benefit the students by encouraging their students to pursue subjects lying outside their syllabus.

Usually, the Universities find it necessary to include extraneous subjects in a student's course of study for the sake of meeting the credit and grade requirement. Although, a student's number of credits and GPA holds a lot of weightage in the process of placement selection or admission in Universities for higher education, I do not believe forcing a student to gulp down irrelevant subjects would be helpful. Instead, a University should encourage projects related to the student's course material to cover up the credit requirement and also to get them to earn extra credits . This way, the student would feel more exposed to the domain and would increase his/her confidence in stepping into the industrial world.

Let us take the example of Indian Education System along with my personal experience. I loathed Social Science. I had to reluctantly mug up dates in History, locations in Geography, Political Science and Economics for the sake of my grades whereas my heart lied in domain of Dentistry. It was a rough ride in my tenth grade, however, I managed to get good scores at the end. Like me, there is a large chunk of students going through the same, and some of them end up taking the worng decisions and end up hurting themsleves, falling into depression, and worst of all, taking their own lives only because they could not contain the pressure the extra and pointless subjects in their lives are exerting on them.

Also, including subjects outside a student's sphere of interest would lead to more time devoted to study and hence, more money shed. As we also see in the news, students are struggling to pay up their tution fee by taking student loans or working in fields out of their interest. Instead of living their dream by working in their long desired company, they would be wasting time cramming useless knowledge.

Although students studying outside their field of study may have some advantages like discovering themselves:their interests by trying various other options, this should be applied only to students who are still figuring out where their passion lies.

In conclusion, I would say that although there are students still in the process of discovering their interests, skill and passion, including subjects outside a student's course of study should not be applied to everyone but only those who request for it.