Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific research and development is the basis for the grandeur of achievement we human beings have made till today and will be making tomorrow. The scientific research, with no doubt can be accredited to the difference in comfort, knowledge and achievement we witness today to that of the previous century. However, is our nature as conscious being to be curious not only of the elements and processes that better us but also of those that could harm us hence the scientific research are done on all spheres either good or evil. Hence, I believe that the restriction helps to keep the scientific research under check and keep away the negative impacts of the research.

The scientific research, when kept under the limitations prevents the nature and the play of natural force. For instance, we can consider the field of genetic engineering. Genetic engineering is the branch of science which manipulates the genes and its components to modify an organism or population of organisms. Genetic engineering, in agriculture has provided with many disease resistant plants and animals that can thrive in the extreme conditions, however when the plants and animals are continuously engineered, they lose their natural ability to struggle in the extreme climatic conditions and will always have to be engineered with changing condition and resurgence of new types of disease pathogens. Also, in the pursuit of producing the large amount of food via. engineered plants and animals, the indigenous plants are not prioritized causing the deterioration and loss of genetic resources.

The researcher cannot be entirely objective and devoted to the research and its element if he/she is to be conscious of their boundaries. The research might demand the performance of certain process or use of certain elements that is limited by the restrictions and so their research has to be consciously limit the achievement of the research. For e.g. when conducting the research on nuclear reaction, the researcher will not be able to test it as per his/ her wish but has to comply with the strict guidelines, owing to which though the nuclear reaction is capable of generating large amount of power it is limited to few areas on the globe. However, the nuclear power accidents in the world has proved it to be worthwhile.

The restriction placed on the research might not only be due to consideration of its physical or biological impact but it might also be due to the emotional damage it can cause to the human. In social science surveys, researcher need to consider the rights of a fellow human being and need to place the questions within a certain discipline in such a way that the respondent is at comfort in answering the question. Some might arue that, the limitations can forge the data as it might hinder certain parameters of the research, however it brings the question of at what cost should the research be conducted? Let us consider the instance of the research based on the sexual assault victim. The researchers on such cases are limited bt various rules and acts of the nation and the researcher are found to be complaining about the restrictions. The police report of Nepal Police shows that in most rape cases the victims are greatly hostile and are unwilling to share much detail and hence arises the question is it achievement to gain insight of their cases or for them to heal.

Many might argue that there is always a restriction, while the danger does not always exist. However, the danger should not always be analyzed from human perspective only rather objectively from the point view of the world. The application of the pesticides to protect the crop was considered harmless and there was very few or none restriction in its application but now research indicates it to be the leading cause of cancer. Similarly, the inorganic fertilizers were great amend to the low fertility of soil but now it is the cause of depleted nutrient base of soil. Hence, though the scientific research and development are the key to new achievements and solving problems it should always be under limit as famously said, “Too much of sugar is bitter.”