Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

A leader is a person with the responsibility of leading people, organization, or nation toward a common goal or objective. The responsibility of decision-making is the foremost responsibility of a leader and whether the decision based on popular opinion or on leader’s own expertise and experience is an effective one is a perpetual dilemma. Creating a balance between popular opinion, one’s own wit and what is necessary for the betterment of the people, a leader need to decide objectively and wittily. There are ample examples on both side of the debate; leaders going with people’s will have both perished and periled and is the same for leader not considering popular opinion, yet a common ground can be found in all cases and that is the result is based whether the popular opinion is based on the emotional instinct of people or considerate scrutiny.

The autocratic and totalitarian powers of the world like Rana Regime of Nepal, Adolf Hitler, Saddam Hussain met unfortunate ends due to their negligence of popular opinion and imposing their own will on the mass. The Rana Regime of Nepal denied basic rights of people such as education, right to vote, health facilities, freedom of speech, etc. and the King of Nepal was merely a puppet in their hand, ultimately leading to decry of citizens throughout the nation for their abolishment after over 100years of totalitarian. Adolf Hitler, who is still regarded as the synonym for strong stubbornness and cruelty, was another leader operating on his own will without any consideration of the popular opinion and his end became a celebration to many people of the world. Similarly, the failure of former King Gyanendra of Nepal to recognize the popular opinion and decision to take direct control of the nation led to the collapse of 250-year long monarchy of the nation, where King was regarded as a shadow of one of the most venerated gods of Hinduism, Lord Vishnu.

However, when we scrutinize the leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr, Nelson Mandela, all of whom are regarded effective leaders throughout the world, it can be observed that they were not always courting the popular opinion. These leaders are not only the exemplar of leaders but also of humanity and human kind, always dedicated on uplifting the moral of people and motivating them towards civility. It is not unknown that people were suggesting armed conflict against British’s East India Company in India, however Gandhi never approved the violence and struggle and was stubborn about peaceful rebellion. Mandela, though in later years while struggling for democracy has to embrace non-violence for a certain period, has always allowed his expertise and experience to take the lead over the popular opinion. King, though already stubborn in not assuming any political position as suggested by many rather serving as a human being promoting equality, was inspired by Gandhi’s successful non-violence movement and though many of his supporters suggested alternative means for freedom, he never left his stand on non-violence.

To sum up, it is not whether the decision is based on popular opinion or the leader himself that makes a leader accomplished rather the objective of the decision and the impact it can create on the people which decides the effectiveness of the decision and hence the leader. So, to be an accomplished leader, an individual should analyze all the aspects, do a thorough research and take decision, borrowing the words from a famous Nepali phrase, “a true leader hears all, but acts on own.”