Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I strongly agree with the statement that governments should place as little as possible restrictions on scientific research. For such a creative work as research studies it is important for everyone involved to think and act freely.

To begin with, I will introduce an example of negative impact on research sphere caused by restrictions from the government. In USSR a bunch of disciplines were prohibited: cybernetics, genetics, human rights studies. The totalitarian government didn’t fund researchers who tried to advance in these fields. Moreover, a couple of notorious scientists of that time were expelled from the official institutions because of their connections with these banned topics, some of them were imprisoned and even were shot. It is hard to imagine what would be the effect on the world’s science if these people would be free to work. From my point of view, these restrictions influenced the academia in the USSR extremely heavily and this effect is clear even today in modern Russia - there are not many groundbreaking developments in computer studies or in political theory from this country.

There is, however, the dark side of the science. As the science is often hard to understand by its nature, some popular anti-scientific convinctions often play a role of science for those who can not distinguish the real research from the fake one. In Covid-19 time, there was a huge amount of pdeudo-pharmaceutical meds, directed to alleviate people’s disease - all of these, of course, without any verification. A lot of ‘doctors’ in the Internet were also ready to tell why vaccination is harmful. Should the ‘science’ of this kind be banned? From my opinion, no. As the scientific works bases on the investments - from the governments or from the huge businesses - any ani-science can co-exist with real science, but because of the lower level of reliability, it will involve less money in it. I believe that society as a whole can decide what is ‘science’ and what it ‘anti-science’ for it - for its own good.

To conclude with, I absolutely support the idea that there should be as few as possible restrictions on science. Even when the science without restrictions goes the wrong way, the society can re-organize itself so that it will not make much harm.