Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A research field is one where-in various experiments are carried out in order to solve a problem. These problems could be health related, advancement of technology, global development e.t.c. The development of research may take months and perhaps even years to start and complete. The prompt recommends that government set up rules and regulations to bind scientific research and development. In my opinion, I agree with the recommendation for two reasons.

First, before a scientific research can be set up, there need to be a problem in which the researcher is trying to solve. During this period, the researcher must have an hypothesis he/she is trying to prove right or wrong. However, the most driving force for any scientific research is funding. Without funding, no research can be carried out. In cases like this, government needs to place restrictions to avoid 'unnecessary'and even 'irrelevant' works. For instance, there are funding bodies such as NIH that fund various STEM research. These bodies tends to have rules and requirements in place to limit and outsource unrelated research works in order to boost the improvement of health related issues. A typical example is a case of a professor trying to get grants for his/her work. Such a person needs to write a grant proposal and research statement stating what he/she hopes to accomplish with their research work, after which he/she submits it for approval. Upon approval, the research work begins. This methods helps to cater for the need of research while preventing glut of research in a field in with already catholic information.

Furthermore, there are research industries that are based on scientific research. An example is the pharmaceutical company. A pharmaceutical company carries out various research before developing drugs that can target and mitigate various diseases such as Alzheimer, cancer. Such pharmaceutical company upon development of the drugs will go through the testing-phase. Testing of the drug is carried out to know the efficacy and side effect of the drugs, it is done in-vitro and in-vivo. During the in-vivo phase, the drug is tested in animal models such as rat, mice e.t.c. If there are no government restrictions in place, then any capable funding-body can set up an organization for such research regardless of the side effects. In cases like this, government restrictions will ensure that before any drugs can be approved for administration in human, it must meet certain standards and the side effects must be well documented to avoid exacerbating rather than ameliorating the intended health issue.

Of course, it could be argued that restrictions from the government can be bias and perhaps even parochial. Certainly, government does not know how scientific research work, how much dearth information certain field consists of without extensive research carried out on it. But this is exactly why at least few restrictions needs to be put in place, because even researchers are bias in their work. Most of researchers are driven by either active interest in a particular field or even as far as selfish reasons in attaining a certain goal. Without restrictions in place, researchers will go through any length to prove a theory right or wrong, not minding who gets hurt in the process. Without this restrictions, researchers will ignore glaring side effects of drugs and praise it efficient which will act as a detriment to people that ends up getting administered the drugs. In my opinion, government restrictions is important and required in the development of scientific research, but these restrictions should only be the few necessary one in order to yeild the best results possible.