The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

At each moment in history, there are certain figures who rise to prominence for their intellect, morality, talents or a combination of these attributes. It is common for these individuals to be judged by their fellow citizens, and some may even receive a title of greatness. The prompt suggests that the greatness of an individual can only be decided by later generations, not by those who are alive during the individual's lifetime. I believe generally this is true. We have a tendency to either overlook certain negative attributes during an individual's lifetime or fail to recognize their greatness in real-time. Consequently, it is not until later their shortcomings or their failure can be accurately evaluated, and the title of greatness can rightfully be bestowed. I will provide three examples of prominent figures for whom this proves true.

There are at times figures in our society whose shortcomings are ignored in favor of their accomplishments. They are lauded for their perceived greatness in a way that fails to properly reconcile their negative attributes. One example of this phenomenon is Gandhi, well-known for his humanitarian efforts. During his lifetime and shortly thereafter, Gandhi was commonly associated with greatness. It came to light in later years that Gandhi's earlier writings in particular were steeped in racism and sexism. While some continue to venerate Gandhi for all the good he contributed to the world and argue these sentiments were a product of the time, others feel these statements are inexcusable and the title of greatness no longer continues to apply. This example demonstrates the title of greatness applied to Gandhi during his lifetime has been renegotiated in later years as new information came to light.

In other circumstances, we fail to see greatness in an individual during their lifetime. It is not until after their death that we realize their contributions to humankind. Henrietta Lacks is one such example. In the early 1950s, Henrietta Lacks as diagnosed with cervical cancer and eventually passed away from the disease. During her lifetime, some of her cancerous cells were removed and donated to science without her consent or knowledge. These cells, labeled as HeLa, were soon found to be 'the first immortal' human cells. HeLa cells have been used in a number of scientific discoveries, including their use in the first polio vaccine and in cancer research. Henrietta Lacks was relatively unknown during her lifetime, but due to the impact she has had on science, she is now generally acknowledged for her greatness. Henrietta Lacks is a prime example of an individual whose greatness was ignored by her contemporaries but later recognized by later generations.

There are, of course, some individuals whose greatness is strongly felt by their contemporaries and those who live after. Martin Luther King, Jr. was revered during his lifetime as one of the great activists during the Civil Rights Movement. Even now, decades after his death, he is revered for his morality, intellect, and compassion. Some may even argue that we currently hold Martin Luther King, Jr. in higher regard today than at any other time in history, as he was well-respected by Civil Rights activists more so than the general public during his lifetime. In the example of Martin Luther King, Jr., it can be argued his greatness has stood the test of time.

Evaluating the greatness of an individual is challenging at any point in history. At times, we put the great leaders of our time on a pedestal and only recognize the immediate impact of their contributions. Other times, we fail to see the greatness of an individual during their lifetime and only find their significance years after their passing. Those who are able to span greatness in their lifetime and beyond may hold a particular and special place in our imagination. In all, we must be cognizant of the shortcomings we have in assigning greatness to individuals without the time for reflection.