The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

In my opinion, there are many political issues can only be reviewed by our descendants. However, there are many technological achievements can be judged by contemporaries instantly. Thus, I disagree with the statement.

Indeed, a few issues can be examined only by our descendants, such as the affects of nuclear energy. For example, in Taiwan, there were many people opposing the government to build new nuclear power plants because these people were concerned about nuclear radiation caused by the power plants. However, the president of Taiwan, Tsai Ing Wen, still decided to establish more nuclear power plants because there were serious problems of shortage of energy in Taiwan. Other types of energy would need to be imported from foreign countries, and thus the Taiwanese people could not obtain stable supplies of energy in the past because of foreign governments' policies. Therefore, in order to get the stable supplies of energy independently, the Taiwanese government chose to more nuclear power plants. The negative effects of nuclear energy may not be detected in a short period, such as nuclear radiation. Thus, the greatness of Tsai Ing Wen can be only judged by the Taiwanese descendants.

However, there are other important events can be judged by contemporaries. For example, Steve Jobs invented the first smartphone in 2007, and this great achievement can be examined by contemporaries apparently. People can obtain lots of useful information by using smartphone’s software applications, such as Google and Yahoo. People do not need to go to a real stores to lend videos because they can use their smartphone to watch many movies on online platforms, such as Youtube and Netflix, by their smartphones. Moreover, people do not have to get into a physical offices to attend meetings as they can use lots of helpful software applications to finish their discussions. With these useful functions, people can finish their works or enjoy a movie more conveniently. Therefore, the greatness of Steve Jogs can be judged by contemporaries.

Moreover, lots of people devoted their time to saving more people, and this greatness of these people could also positive judgements from contemporaries. For example, Alan Turing, who was a British computer scientist, once attended many secret missions of British army. The most famous feat accomplished by him was that he and his colleagues deciphered the communication machine of Nazi Germany, and help allies to defeat Germany in 1945. His achievement could be also reviewed by contemporaries because his actions saved lots of people and liberated those countries occupied by Germany. By contrast, if Alan Turing had not chosen to help the British government to decipher the communication machine of Germany, the allies might have not been able to defeat Germany.

To sum up, some people can only be examined by our descendants. However, There are many great people can still be judged by contemporaries. Therefore, I disagree with the statement.