The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

I disagree with the given statement or the notion. How can one decide the greatness of a person? It is unjust to claim that only people living after the great individual can decide or judge his greatness. The people living with him or his contemporaries can also discover his greatness.

But what are the metrics to judge someone's greatness? Recognizing and accepting the greatness of a person depends upon various factors. The predominant factors among them are social belief, religious belief, and the subject matter of the issue.

For instance, Galileo gave a theory that Earth is not the center of the universe and does have motion. Earth is not static in position. But Galileo was not appreciated for his work instead, he was reprimanded for disregarding people's religious beliefs. Later down the lines, people accepted that Earth does revolve around the Sun which is, in turn, the center of the universe. The people at that time couldn't believe Galileo because of their fanatic religious beliefs and lack of awareness.

Therefore his greatness was accepted later by the people living after him.

Another instance, on the other hand, is of Mother Teresa who dedicated her whole life to the well-being of other people. She worked for the destitute class to alleviate their distress. For her numerous humanitarian efforts, she was lauded with the Nobel Prize in her lifetime. Her greatness was comprehended by the contemporary people. The efforts of freedom fighters were also appreciated by the contemporary people because they have lived to witness the effects. Even future generations acknowledge their effort and contribution.

All this leads to the conclusion that greatness is not only decided by peers, it can sometimes be decided by the people living after them. In short, greatness can never go unnoticed it might take some time to be appreciated. But sooner or later deserved admiration is given to the great individuals.