"The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries."

contemporaries know about the over all nature of the individuals of how good or bad a person is as they witnessed it in their era, instead the next generation be known every thing about the past from some scripts or by some means which signify about it as only forwarded to after them and not experienced instead.

some great works for example striving to bring a law stating lower class citizens to be given 50% reservation in politics , planting tree for people after them can be know to people after them .But works like struggling for farmers to get subsidies , working for salary hikes to low-income people in present era can't be known to people after them. so these are just praised by contemporaries . As its unknown to other people it does not mean the person worked for is not great

No one do works keeping in mind that they need to appreciated or must be recognised by others , even if done so ,there is no confirmation that this will be forwarded as it is to the persons lived after them in the form of written drafts or by any of the people if not dead who see the greatness of these people

Obviously kings-queens and social reformers who fought for well being of just for the ones after them, we have decided their greatness . Its won't be same in all the other cases too as we know about the greatness of the above mentioned people because of proper history and sufficient examples of their works

The greatness of individuals can be decided by the contemporaries at least as these people witnessed every thing happened in front of them and for those who live after them may or may not understand what its like to have the great works done by precedent people are worth of praise as these belong to another particular time segment