If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it is justifiable.

Is it reasonable to take any mean to achieve a goal if a goal is worthy? In my opinion, it depends on the motivation for only oneself or public interests. If a goal is fit for the benefit of everyone, it is justifiable.

If a goal is to satisfy one own's self-interest, it is not justifiable to take any mean to achieve that goal. Humankind has desires to pursue everything they want, and it is the instinct to make human competing for survival. With this desire, humankind does everything to acquire their goal. However, if one takes any means only to fulfill one's interest, it can damage the benefits of others in society. For example, in Taiwan, politicians often revile their opponents with misleading information to win their campaign. A candidate, So-Chung Din, accuses the mayor of Taipei City of betraying Taiwan with fake news. Although the mission of every candidate is to win an election, it makes an adverse effect on not only the reputation of the mayor of Taipei City but also the political environment in Taiwan. Overall, the total benefits acquired in society are less than the total damage received.

However, it is reasonable to take any means to attain a goal if a goal is to improve the benefits of everyone. Sometimes, it is unavoidable to damage someone to do things that benefit everyone. Nevertheless, if we do not achieve that kind of goal, we cannot make our society better. For instance, in Taiwan, it is hard to construct railways because the residents nearby the route of railways do not want to suffer from the noise made by trains. It is necessary for a government to take any means to construct railways because railways can improve the welfare of everyone even the residents nearby. A new railway can decrease everyone's time on transport and prosper the area where a railway station located. Therefore, the total benefits acquired in society are more than the total damage received.

Besides, it does not mean we cannot do any mean to satisfy our interest. With the limitation of not hurting the rights of others, we must encourage everyone to attain their goals with any means. We cannot live in a prosper society without motives of self-interest. For example, before China reformed its economic structure, their government did not allow their people to gain excess rewards than any other. Everyone had the same size of a cake. Without proper incentives, people in China had no incentive to improve anything, and a society worsened. Compared to China, the United States has laws to ensure fair competition and everyone's right. With the limitation of not surpassing the rules, everyone gets encouraged to do any mean to achieve his or her goal. The whole society of the United States prosper.

In conclusion, it is worthy for a goal of pursuing public interests to take any means to attain. In a proposition of not hurting the rights of any other, it is fit to take any means to achieve a worthy goal for self-interest.