An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The deficiency of vitamin A amongst many citizens in Tagus is a serious concern. The International Development Organization's(IDO) step to provide new breed of millet and paying subsides to farmers is commendable. The author states here that they millet should mostly be accepted and the government of Tagus should promote it; there are many questions that arises which should be answered to find out whether the recommendation will be effective or not.

The first question that arises is that once the millet are out in market how well has it been doing? Is it being widely accepted and if yes are the helping in increasing vitamin A level; is it safe to consume? Does it have any side effect on consuming?, is it affordable to the citizens?, does the country have the weather conditions to cultivate the crop? Firstly, it is important to know well are the localities accepting this into their food habits. Have they felt any difference on including it in their diet. The other important thing to know whether they are able to afford it enough to consume on a daily basis, It is important that it should be affordable to the people as it has a basic nutrient value.

Once the above questions are answered in affirmative , the next focus should be to cultivate within the country. Just providing subsides wont do the work. The weather conditions have to be appropriate for cultivation. The weather conditions if also satisfies, it is good to go to be a part of their daily lives

To conclude, combating the issue a long term plan has to be sought so that it doesn't occur again. A well planned strategy should be created and evaluations must be done my the IDO and the government of Tagus, for the well being of Tagus citizens.