It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Yes, I completely agrre with the given statement that "It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves". We represent our ourselves in the world with help of social group we are in and follow. Our involvement with other people shows our demenour, status and other pragmatic behavior for society. Depending on our social group some people might judge us.

Having, a good social group helps us identify as an good natured human being to other people. For example, there are two kids named "Kevin" and "David" both are lively and cheerful kids but, the friend circle of both the kids are polar opposite to each other's.

Kevin's friend circle is pragmatic, cheerful, warm just like him. All his friends in the circle are have a very good reputation in society. They try to maintain a very good decorum, give and talk with respect with each other. They all have proper manners and etiquettes which help shape a really good future. Even when some one is scolding even though it is not their fault, they will listen carefully to that person and say "sorry" and move on. All the friends in the circle teach each other to respect each and every human being. They also do volunteering work for those in need. All these qualities shows that how good this group of kevin is. This good natured beahvior would help them in future if they occur to have any problem.

On the other hand, David's social is polar opposite to kevin's. None of his friends have good reputaion all of his frirends have a notorious nature. Neither his friends give respect to each other nor they give it to any elder. All having notorious nature create problem for themselves and people surrounding them. They would bully a kid for no reason making him/her scared of them for life, kevin's social group won't treat everybody condoscendingly they would treat anyone however they want. Kevin's friends are digging their own graves by this attitude and demenour. All teachers scold them everyday but they are not a making bit of progress to put themselves on track of good nurturing.

If any problem occured everybody will point fingers at david because he is one who is having troublesome friend circle. His parents will need to accept this fact.

Humans are like clay we shape ourselves as our surrounding so, having good social group will define ourselves as a good natured person and having bad social-group will scope us as bad natured person. The bad influence will give us only bad qualities making us to be more bitter, evil natured human where as to contrary we will get good qualities and shape us to be more happy, good behviored human. We can take all these qualities from above example of "Kevin" and "David".