Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The editorial suggested that teachers' salaries should reflect their students' grades. I mighty disagree with such statement.

As current higher education industry focuses more one academic output inetead of teaching quality, some criticism assert that professors engross on their research while neglect the teaching side. Admittedly using the strategy of linking salaries and students' grades seemingly gives incentive to improve the teaching quality. However, the snag is that students' marks are mostly determined by their professors, so that the sequel is that the professors would gives dramartically inflated grades instead of preparing better for his classes. Therefore such stragety would only be self-defeating in higher education system.

When it comes to secondary enducation, It would still have much adverse effect, even when the grades are determined by stardardized tests such as SAT. In such test, the supportors of the claim would argue that teachers cannot manipulate the mark for such test so that they will have to improve the course quality. Then the desireble outcome can be achieved. However, one downside is that such rule would makes teachers turn their goal of education into obtainning high marks, while the it should be developing students mind and both healthly. Under the condition that teachers overlook all rest apects except from grades, students would have to study their subjects from 7 am to 10 pm, with scarce leisure to develop their interest and exercise. This is what exactly happened in China and such routine leads to many mental health issues such as depression and anxiety for a considerable amount of students. Therefore it can be tenable to conclude that this suggestions will not work as expected for secondary education.

However, the consideration beind this statement, that we do need to set certain criterira to examining teacher's course quality, otherwiese some students would suffer from irresponsible teachers and their poor class. Still, such goal can be achieved by other alternative appraoches, such as censor on teacher's class materials such as slides and notes to ensure they prepare well. Additionally, schools could collect students' feedback for their instuctors to regularly check the class quality. In such alternative manner, the above negative consequence does not exist and the desirable outcome is accomplished.

From what has been discussed above, we could safely claim that despite that the aim behind the statement is not wrong, the mean to accomplish it is counterproductive. It would be more salubrious to adopt alternatives for such purpose.