Knowing about the past cannot help people make important decisions today.

Every generation of humans know more about the past of human civilization, the Earth and the Universe than the one which preceded it. The curiosity to know about the past and make inferences out of experiences of our ancestors is always encouraged. The technologies we use today were figured out by people who lived before us. It is always fruitful to figure out how they managed to make a new technology with the limited and scarce resources at their disposal at that time.

In making important decisions, the analyses of past experiences - about a similar event and how the decision impacted the people concerned with the decision - plays a very important role. However it is the duty of the person who calls the shots to factor in the present scenario into any situation. Providing support for coal plants to improve power generation spurred the industrial revolution of the last century, but promoting them in a situation where the Earth is experiencing its hottest years in history will be labelled anachronistic and dismissed.

History is often created by people who flout the norms or have the knowledge and courage to question established authority. But that never means humans should forget their past, lose respect for what their ancestors have achieved or disregard past innovations when it loses its relevance. Important decisions should always be informed ones which give due respect to the past researches, present situation and future plans of a society.