The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Luxury items have become necessary in daily lives of people, but it degrades development of individuals to a certain extent, as they tend to become more dependent on convenience providing items. So I partially disagree with the given statement.

The more luxuries the people are offered with, the more they become accustomed to comfort zone. Due to this comforting nature, people tend to become lazy and procastinate even for the simplest of tasks. For example, when a person starts to ride a scooter on city roads, he would use that scooter even for short distance travelling, avoiding few minutes of walk. If the scooter is made unavailable to such a person, he would procastinate to do the same task, as now he would be required to take a walk. So the point is clear that with more luxury stuff, people tend to become more lazy.

People tend to rely on luxury items to a large degree, even if the task can be completed without them. As the number of luxury items in our daily life increases, people tend to forget that some tasks can be completed only with human intervention. For instance, people tend to use calculators for doing complex calculations but now-a-days people use them even for doing simplest of calculations such as "three times three", which can be performed manually even by a third grade student. Thus people should not lean so much to the luxuries that they become completely dependent on them.

Luxuriy items might prove helpful in daily lives for accomplishing harder tasks in a simple manner. With the help of the convenience provided by the luxury items, people can easily simplify a task. Mobile phone is a luxury item which if used wisely provides a greater ease of communication. People can communicate with each other living miles apart instantly, and even at a cost effective expense. Items like this clearly makes people's lives more easier and a hassle-free experience.

Therefore we can conclude that luxury items may prove to deteriorate independence of individuals, but if used modestly can also prove to be convenient in daily lives of individuals.