The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The idea that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from becoming strong and independent is an interesting idea to discuss. I mostly agree with the statement. As it will become apparent in this essay, I will explain details about my position on this issue.

The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life make people become dependent individuals. To illustrate, because of the advent of washing machines, I do not have to wash clothes by hand. This saves my time. However, if my washing machine breaks, I have to wash by hand. This means that I will have to spend more than an hour washing all my clothes. I also have less time to do other things, such as checking my students’ homework or reading books. Therefore, I become reliant on the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life.

I agree with the statement because the luxuries and conveniences, such as technology can become inconvenient. For example, I cannot leave home without my smartphone because of my job. I need my smartphone for arranging and confirming my teaching schedules. Hence, I am obliged to respond when the school contacts me, and, in this manner, the luxuries and conveniences of temporary life do diminish my independence.

The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life do prevent people from becoming strong individuals. For instance, I used to take the sky train to work. I also walk from my workplace to the train station. As a result, I walk at least 10,000 steps per day. However, after the Covid-19, I travel by car. Traveling by car makes my life more convenient because it takes less time for commuting. The result from traveling by car is that I rarely walk. My daily steps are at best 3,000 steps. The first thing that I noticed is that I gained a lot of weight even though I consume similar calories intake. I also get tired easily when walking up the stairs. This means that my physical health is diminished. I also become weaker. As a result, the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent me from becoming a strong individual.

However, the statement might not hold true. Although traveling by car can worsen my health, there are some luxuries and conveniences that help me regain my health. To illustrate, my father bought me an elliptical machine and dumbbells. The elliptical machine can be used as a substitute for walking to work while dumbbells are for weight training. I also enjoy exercising in my house because it is very convenient. This allows me to lose weight and gain my strength from weight training. Therefore, the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life make me become a stronger person.

The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life also make people independent. For instance, an elevator for a two-story house may be considered as luxury, but it becomes necessary if people in the house got injured and could not walk. This means that people are not necessarily weak because they rely on the elevator when they get injured or could not walk. Thus, in this manner, the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life do not prevent individuals from becoming independent.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life may prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. However, there are some circumstances that might not be true.