Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Many historic important discoveries often seemed “accidental”, which means some believe that usually while going back and forth in another question, people come to a solution to this. However, I mostly disagree with the claim.

There remain, indeed, some examples of so-called accidental discoveries. In particular, the famous incident of Issac Newton thinking about mechanics while being hit by an apple led to the eventual discovery of universal gravitation. Another example is Galvani’s seemingly accidental discovery of bioelectricity. However, these stories are often intended to motivate us to study science and therefore lack authenticity. Even if one has witnessed the occasional phenomenon that may lead to discoveries unrelated to one’s original inquiry or branch, without sufficient knowledge in the bigger field that covers both the original branch and the branch related to the occasional phenomenon one could fail to make these discoveries credible. For example, without brilliant skills in anatomy and sufficient knowledge of neuro mechanisms, Galvani could not pay close attention to such an occasional phenomenon. Moreover, without the various experiments Galvani did after this observation, he could never testify the discovery only through an accidental phenomenon. A more important fact that could thoroughly deny the statement above about “accidental” in terms of discovery or creation: any discovery that can stand up to scrutiny and bring practical value should be found by researchers with enough knowledge accumulation and systematic verification rather than occasional luck. This would be explained more elaborately below.

First and foremost, important discoveries need sufficient professional knowledge in the fields. Issac Newton, have to go through hundreds of pages of previous work by Aristotle, Galileo, etc. to begin his work on Newton’s mechanics; only through a full understanding of Newton’s work, can Einstein question the validity of it, together with the experiment results proved by Plank and Maxwell, he established the modern structure of General Relativity and Quantum Mechanics; Alan Turing, after learning the reliability of electronics and the development of electronic valves, constructs the first electronic computers, which performs perfectly in decoding enigma of WW2 of decoding enigma. Without years of accumulation of knowledge, one could never make discoveries even if providing one is provided with the best circumstances such as materials and human resources to disclose the in the world and the right moment for discoveries.

Additionally, every discovery requires systematic verification before practical application. Without verification, one theory could only be a conjecture, which lends strength to the fact that lucky researchers aiming at other questions find discoveries unrelated to his intention that could be easily denied without the discoveries standing up practical application. For example, many scientists in the 19th century are curious about the components of light. Since light is proven to be an electronic wave and waves need media to spread, they define the media of light as “Ether”. Over the years, many laboratories claimed to find Ether by either experiment or theoretical derivation but failed in questions and doubts. Finally, it is proven that Ether, does not exist. Hence, without sufficient theoretical and experimental support, discoveries cannot be deemed reliable and valuable discoveries.

In conclusion, the known accidental factor of discoveries is minor and even negligible, even does not exist, whereas credible and practical discoveries should be based on both knowledge and support from enough empirical evidence.