Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The media is a platform that connects ideas, people, businesses from different regions, countries and continents round the globe. It is a very powerful platform as it divulges a lot of information; some which are facts, some are factitious, and others speculations.

However, the internet contains a lot of resourceful information about different things happening globally. One can get abreast with things happening in a country while being in another country via the internet. Communication between people in different parts of the world has been made easy via internet; conference meetings can be held with a group of people at different locations via the use of internet. The internet is also used for security purposes. It can be used to track a person's mobile phone and in a situation of emergency track the person's location. There is a lot that is accrued to the media.

In as much as the internet has a positive influence globally, it also has its negative influence on the users. The internet contains a lot of information that are very distracting. There are things that trend at this moment and before the end of the day, another news is made to trend. A lot of people get carried away with frivolous things on the internet. In recent times, some companies have begun to give strict restrictions with the use of phones during office hours. Some tasks are sometimes prolonged and delivered at the peak of submission or after the due period, this is because of mobile distractions from the media. The media can also be addictive, a lot of people get addicted to posting things on social media and some await posts from other people.

It is out rightly true that the internet has caused people's attention span to get shorter because of the large chunk of information. But I would beg to differ that this also has helped people select useful information from the bulk of information. Once I type in a word on 'google', I get more than one response from different sites and then I have the luxury of clicking the best.