Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

__________

We always hear this one statement in news now-a-days that digital world is the future, many of the countries have already reached the benchmark of being digitized while many countries are yet to achieve. Mass media and Internet play a prominent role in making this possible. These two have brought our world very close to each other. Few decades back, when conversing with people who lived on the other side of the globe was merely considered to be impossible, the innovation of internet and mass media have now made that possible. Everything has its pros and cons, even internet and mass media.

The issue topic tells us that because people using mass media and internet it has reduced their level of attention span, rather considering it as a negative point it has overall shown positive outlook. Before, the invention of mass media and internet people used to interact socially and indulge themselves in other outdoor activities, but because the invention of mass media people actually like to interact through their mobiles according to their convenience, because of this the importance of outdoor activities is diminishing and is almost not observed anywhere. For example: few years back small children used to play outdoor and other indoor games but now-a-days children those games playing at their respective homes using their personal mobiles.

While enumerating such incidences the list might have abundant examples, but their are various good impacts on the society as well. As the world is getting digitized and their are many technological advancements in every sector. The corporate world has benefited the most. For example: If we consider a XYZ bank few decades back every bank used to prepare balance sheet manually and all the calculation were done on manual basis but because of technological advancement we can get our work done swiftly and in less amount of time hence we can utilize that time in some other work.

Although people might have lost their or reduced their overall attention span, which is actually one of the biggest impact. But because of innovation of internet we are only one step away from getting or knowing what we want just by click of a button. This has made multi-tasking possible and enhanced our cognitive ability and hence we are able to comprehend large quantities of data. I have already stated that everything has its pros and cons, and I still believe that by creating a balance between the good and the bad impact we can achieve new heights.

Therefore, through the points I have stated above I feel that even we are losing and reducing our attention span which is actually wrong and has to be taken care of, but the invention of mass media and internet might have some bad impact on us, we can always cover it and move ahead focusing on the good impacts.