''A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college''

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would not ba advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Formal education is indeed an important tool that is needed to shapen one's mind, mindset, help achieve one's goals, and on the long run, could lead to the development of a nation or state. But, adequate care needs to be taken over the course of attaining a good formal education. Placing requirements on such an important weapon as this could lead to confuscations and in turn have a number of negative outcomes- which could include wastage of resources and the most important resource of all, time.

By imposing a curriculum on the indegenes of a nation up until college, there is an assumption that everyone has equal strengths, which is definitely not the case. For illustration, I have a strong affinity for Chemistry and Engineering, and specifically found it extremely hard to comprehend courses such as English Literature. This, I was able to find out because I was given the choice to take all of the couses that cut through Sciences, Arts, and Commercial/Social Sciences. By so doing, I was able to recognize Art as my weakest point, hence choosing Sciences as my focus for Senior High School.

Not only will mandating students to take the same courses make it hard to identify one's strength, doing this will make it hard to even focus on what one would eventually study in college. In a situation where the national curicullum includes all subjects from the aforementioned three major fields, there would not be the time or avenue for other students to build on the fundamental knowledge that is required of them. Say, one wants to study Chemical Enghineering, but simply because it had been imposed on them to take all courses,he would have wasted time on courses that are of no relevance to his intended field of study.

Futhermore, requiring everyone to take the same courses, while exposing students to undesired courses that turn out to be extremely difficult for the ( as Literature was for me), could be extremely discouraging, especially to pupils that had little liking for formal education , and as a result, may end up dropping out. This is highly likely to happen in my home country, Nigeria, where a good percentage of young people already had a mindset that formal education is difficult and would rather be on the streets. This, for any nation, is an undesirable outcome.

In conclusion, formal education should be as flexible as possible as it should be an avenue for people to develop themselves, discover themselves and overall shapen them to become who they want to be. Imposing curriculum on the people defeats this important purpose. The only situation where that should even be considered is when there is an urgent need for the nation to develop its people in a specific aspect, which should even be a choice as no government has the right to force people into doing things that have consequences on their personal lives.