“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education was always meant to expand the horizons of one's knowledge. This statement seems to contradict that very cornerstone of education. However, let us delve and discuss a little more on what exactly national curriculum means before we evaluate it's need.

The subjects prior to graduation can be divided into these major streams the languages, sciences and math , social studies and other extra curricular. nationalising the curriculum could be viewed as a division or as a unison . In a country such as India nationalising the curriculum would have a major impact on the languages section , since India has more than 28 recognised languages . Whereas in a majority of the nations of the world , nationalising the curriculum would involve increased focus on the social , political situations in their part of the world.

I believe that a nation must require students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college . Simply because this creates a sense of identity with one's own country . The minds of young people are innocent and impressionable , it is at this age that they must be taught to revere the ideals and values cherished by a nation.

In Ancient India , the system of the Gurukulas prevailed, it was here that the values , culture was passed on from one generation to another. Simply put , this is the right age for us to pass down and create a sense of national identity in our students. The focus on a nation's growth will thus be able imbibe a feeling of belongingness and patriotism towards one's own land.

Once imbibed with a stronger sense of national identity , the colleges can ensure that young , endeavouring minds have are provided with the freedom and resources to explore various aspects of the world. This way we can see a harmonious confluence of the best of both worlds.

The education in India itself can also be looked up as an ideal , since different regions of the country emphasise on their own culture and compared to the rest. However , in higher grades they are taught as to how their culture is a part of the bigger concept called India.

From the point of the administration it may provide a reduced burden on the institutions responsible and also provide a more uniform grading system on which the whole student group can be assessed. This is also necessary to ensure fair admissions for competitive college. This would level the playing field between the rich and poor since both will have to go through a common process and thus make access to good colleges open to a larger group.

How would this then help the concept of breaching the frontiers and accepting the world as a larger family? Well, fundamental to unity in diversity is the diversity itself , implying that the diversity and uniqueness of each nation is required to combine for unity. The first step is to ensure this diversity exists though.

Thus, in nations of single ethnicity or culture it is feasible to nationalise the curriculum, whereas in multi-cultured nations it may not be possible. Let us remember that unity in diversity does require diversity to exist.