The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The mentioned justification may appear appropriate but when examined closely shows a need for some more clarity into the ground reality. Let us examine some of the assumptions and facts that will be required before making such a conclusion.

The increased complaints with local news and the weather maybe due to the poor performance of the current anchors and correspondents . No evidence has been provided to show that the viewer complaints are based on the dedication of lesser time for local news.

It is possible that local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts with the agency due to ineffective advertising in general. It is not clear as to whether the businesses were making profits before this. Perhaps they found a more profitable and effective way for advertising their enterprises.

The reduction in viewership maybe due to other channels being broadcasted at the same time. The reduction may simply be a consequence of viewers preferring other channels that may have been started recently.The availability of news through other source may also have caused the decreased viewership.

Although more time has been given to national news, majority of the complaints are based on the local news. Since there is no mention that the complaints are based on demand for local news. People may actually prefer t=national news over the local news.

Even though local businesses have stopped advertising , the increased importance to national news could improve advertising from larger companies which may increase the revenue since larger companies can invest more.

If this is the case, restoring time to the weather and local news may not improve viewership or avoid losing advertising revenues.

However, it might be possible that the people did prefer a channel where they could get more access to the local news. The situation depicts a station where advertising is more local than national . This could imply that the main base for viewers is local. Perhaps the reputation of this television station was built on its ability to broadcast local news. In which case it is necessary to make such a decision.

Due to the display of national news , perhaps local businesses failed to find a reason or appropriate situation to advertise. Local news pertaining to the happenings of their locality would be a more ideal platform for them to advertise their brands.