A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Most countries around the world prefer to provide a National curriculum to their students whether or not it may be advantageous. Some implement it due to the practicality of the system and others continue providing these curiculums so as to not change the structure of education in their nation. The prompt recommends the mandation of a National curriculum until students enter college. I mostly disagree with this recommendation but there are cases where this might be more practical. I elaborate my position in the essay below by providing two reasons when it's disadvantageous and one where it's advantageous.

One of the major reasons i disagree with the recommendation is due to the narrow scope a National curriculum provides. Most National curriculum's focus on some few core subjects only such as Maths, Science, Social Science,etc. It doesn't put much focus on creative subjects like Music and Theatre. They also don't put focus on Sports. This narrow base of subjects prevents the proliferation of Other Fields in their education system. It doesn't provide students with the same opportunity as other subjects in these fields and hence, the Nation might lag behind other countries in these fields.

On the other hand, a National Curriculum might be more practical compared to the case where schools choose their curriculums on their own. A National curriculum might help a nation to focus on the subjects they want to teach their youth and at the same time it provides a level playingfield for all students. Students can be compared or selected for colleges on the basis of how they performed in their curriculum. Since the curriculum is same for all students, no one would have an unfair advantage.Hence a National curiculum might be advantageous in this case.

On of the other reason i dasgree with the recommendation is that students can specialize in the subjects that interests them if they are provided exosure to those subjects at the school level. But a National curriculum allows specialization in on only some subjects as it has a narrow range. For example if a student has a deep passion for Music, he would be able to pursue it further only after school as his National curriculum doesn't focus on Music.

Therefore, we can conclube that the position of whether to have a National curriculum or not is a complex one. There can be cases where its advantageous and cases where it's not. A National curriculum is most suitable for developing nations as their educational system is not developed enough and hence a National curriculum can guide the system to a proper path. Developed Nations on the other hand have more options and they should consider removing the mandation a National curriculum.They should allow some room so that knowledge can proliferate.