The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late- night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level"

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum issued by the manager, he argues that the cancellation of advertising contracts of local businesses was due to the lesser coverage of Weather and Local News. It might be that this case is true but further evidence is needed to conclude the true nature of the problem. In my response below, I discuss some possible assumptions the manager might be taking and what evidence is needed to finalize these major decisions.

First of all, the manager assumes that the local businesses cancelled their contracts due to devotion of more time to National News. But he doesn't consider the case where the contracts are being cancelled due to the late night nature of the contracts. These ads are being televised late night during which the viewer base is pretty low. The ads might not be reaching their target audience at that time and hence the businesses might have found it not that helpful. Further, evidence is needed as to why the businesses cancelled their contracts. If it's really due to the increased coverage of National News, then the managers decision remains justified.

Another assumption the manger is making is that he beleives the viewers complained due to the decreased coverage of local news. But it might also be the case that they complained because the coverage of local news and weather was not good enough. They might have complained because they didn't feel the coverage was satisfactory. The coverage might have been biased and might have focused on only some issues.Hence, further evidence is needed as to the reason for complaint by the viewers. If they indeed complained due to the shorter coverage, the managers decision is justified.

Finally, the manager assumes that there is some relation between the customer complaints and cancellation of contracts. He assumes that the businesses cancelled their contracts due to the increased dissatisfaction among viewers. This also needs further inspection. If there is indeed a relation between these two, it strengthens the managers arguement.

We can see that the manager took many unfounded assumptions when conveying his arguement. Given, these assumption aren't that unreal and can be plausible , it stil needs some further inspection and evidence so that his decisions don't fireback.