A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Recent studies have shown, that in order to make all different kinds of high school diplomas comparable, colleges rely more and more on standardized tests. For some people these circumstances have risen the question whether all students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college. With some minor qualifications, this seems reasonable for two reasons.

First, college admission would become more objective and fair for students. For instance, Germany is in need of sixteen different ministries of education due to its federal laws. As a direct result of this, each ministry promotes a slightly different curriculum for its educational institutions which, in the end, however, result in the 'same' high school diploma. Notwithstanding the fact that there are several different curricula and therefore a lot of different levels of education, universities are forced by law that the overall high school score is their only criterium for admission. If, however, a student who would have scored an extremely high score in one state, due to its 'easier' curriculum scores just mediocre in another state, this fact is not taken into account. However, all kinds of high school diplomas are treated the same, regardless of their level of curriculum. Students from states with more complex demands set for them in their curriculum are therefore highly disadvantaged. A national curriculum would prevent that discrepancy.

Second, a nationalized curriculum would save a significant amount of taxpayers' money. For instance, while a country like France, which boasts a national curriculum for its students only has to pay for one education caucus consisting of experts and politicians, countries with a more diverse curriculum have to maintain several of those expert groups - one for each curriculum. Although they are all doing roughly the same, their outputs are not merged as each caucus is only responsible for its curriculum. If again we look at the example of Germany consisting of sixteen different states, each of these states has a group dedicated to taking care of the state-wide curriculum. As a direct result of the introduction of a nationalized curriculum countries would immediately be able to get rid of those then unnecessary double or triple structures. One effect of this would be that a substantial amount of money could be saved and for example reinvested in the educational program or other state institutions.

However, measures should be taken to prevent a national curriculum from getting misused as means of propaganda. A nationalized curriculum makes it comparably easy for regimes like North Korea to assure that only those facts of interest to the political regime are being thought in high school as only one curriculum has to be controlled by the political leaders. It is, therefore, reasonable to create some kind of independent ethics committee creating and altering such a national curriculum.

To conclude, for the reasons stated above it seems highly reasonable to introduce at least some kind of national curriculum as the advantages of doing so clearly outweigh the disadvantages.