A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they

enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position

How to organize the instruction of students has been a topic discussed since the existence of schools. While it is clear that a common instruction among all the students is necessary in order for someone not to lack on basic and essential concepts, it is also useful to let room for a partial customization of a student's study programme. This improves the availability of a wide range of people with developed personal interests. They can see themselves not as a copy of someone else, but as a unique person.

One of the main reasons that support this assumption is that students, and people in general, are different from each other. Everyone has their own interests, their own abilities, that can make them more capable of doing wonderful things in different areas of life. Making everyone study the same subjects to the same extent is not a good way to proceed, since making a student conform to specific standards could make him or her stressed to the point he or she does not want to continue studying anymore, thus rising the dropoff rate among all schools. When they manage to succeed, however, they might haven't developed their own interests to a sufficient point where they decide they want to specialise in a subject relative to those areas, so a system with the same curricula tends to block the spark of talented people.

Customization, however, cannot be done completely on a study programme. There should be some mandatory subjects with a minimum of hours to attend, so that every student shares the same basic common knowledge on these subjects and doesn't lack necessary concepts or ideas. This is essential to make good citizens with the abilities our modern society requests.

Something very few people think about though, is the long term future. A system like the one presented above is very useful for a nation that wants a good variety of people with developed interests in different areas. This process indeed promotes the spark of creativity on multiple topics, since it is common knowledge that interaction between people with different background can spark creativity.

A system with some mandatory subjects and room for customization could thus be a succesful one for a competitive and good nation.