A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

In the above recommendation the author suggests that all the students in a nation should study the same curriculum until they enter college. I strongly agree with the given recommendation. I have valid reasons as to why the above recommendation be carried out.

Firstly, when the whole nation has the same curriculum then all the students studying in different schools are at the same level as far as school curriculum is concerned. This sets an equal level for each and every student. The student is judged based on equal crietria. I would like to explain this further with an example of my own. I studied in comparatively difficult board in India, the ICSE board. When I was in school, I was taught and groomed for a variety topics like JAVA from Computer Science and Merchant of Venice for literature and many other subjects which are at a harder level than the students of the local board. It is obvious that scoring a ninety-percent above, in a harder board is challenging than any other local board. But for college admissions we were not judged on tht basis of board but on the basis of marks. Should'nt this be taken into consideraton; that I hail from a much harder syllabus? By considering this fact we could make equal opportunities available to each student in this nation.

Secondly, the difference in curriculum creates a lot of gaps between the knowledge level of students who are of same age but come from different curricilum background. The teachers of the college have to take into account this difference and then teach or guide a particular student accordingly. I think we should concentrate more on teaching in college instead of concentrating on bridging the gap between the students.

Lastly, by having the same national curriculum for the nation we could have the teachers uploading e-content on Youtube or on the e-website of the government. In this way students who do not have access to schools could study from anywhere and still give the exam by studing at home.This is beneficial to the underprivileged students as well. Some students may not have the access to good teachers or learning during day is not possible, these could get access to the curriculum and be at the same level of the other privilged students.

For any country the youth and nation are the power of the country educating them well should be the primary goal. By having a national curriculum, we can achieve this goal and this will create equal opportunities for all the students of the country and no disparity between the knowlege level of the students.