A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Developing uniform national educational practices pre-college has always elicited several arguments among various groups. While there are some who favour te argument of same national curriculum for students before they enter college, there are others who are disagree with this view and believe curriculum can differ based on needs and location. I agree with the former view who believes it is better to have the same national curriculum for sudents before they enter college for two reasons.

Firstly, having the same national curriculum for students helps foster national cohesion among students/youth. When students know that the national curriculum for the country is the same, they are able to relate better with themselves outside school sharing lessons, study notes and discussing what they have learnt in their various schools. For instance, if the national curriculum differs in the country, it can cause an unneccessary classification for students along the basis of students who share the same national curriculum thereby causing division in the country. This becomes exacerbated if the country is a multi-ethnic state and would further divide country further.

Furthermore, different national curriculum can complicate the process of getting admission for students in the country and even more difficult. This is because students would have to look for college that supports the national curriculum used in their own schools, thereby limiting the options of the college that can seek admission in. Unlike having a universal national curriculumin the country, Students have wider options of schools they can seek admissions into and we can also have uniform requirements by colleges for students seeking admission into their schools.

In conclusion, developing a uniform national curriculum for students is important to help foster national unity in a country and should be greatly considered.