The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager concluded in the memorandum that in order to increase the number of viewers of its late night program, and also to further avoid losing advertisement revenues, the station needs to restore the time devoted for its weather and local news to its former level. This manager based his premise on the fact that local businesses are now canceling their advertising contracts with the station and that the complaints received by its viewers during this time period is largely based on this issue. To properly evaluate the arguments of the manager, there are three evidences that need to be looked into.

Firstly, Since the increase in time dedicated to the national news, there is a possiblility that our late night news have now attracted new sets of audience who are more concerned about national happenings in the country and in fact, their number could be more than those that who are interested in local news. If our program has attracted new people, it therefore means that the argument bu the manager does not hold water.

Also, are we not gaining more adversing revenues from national brands who may even likely have a better paying capacity since we have shifted our focus for the late night news program to local news. For example, national events orgabized by national societies in the country or even national brands that have markets all over the country.if this is true, it greatly weaken the arguments of the manager.

Lastly, evidence may show that the reason why local brands are canceling their contracts with us is because there is a new station that attracts more local audience than us for its late night program and they prefer to shift to them. it is a possible that the new station is offering a better price than we are offering for them and they would want to move to them due to the cost advantage. If this os true, the argeument of the maanger is gratly flawed.