A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.
The claim or the recommendation above is more than just unacceptable, but also as
far as abnoxious to many. A nation can be home to a large population and for the
entire population of students to undergo the same national curriculum until they
enter college can be so dawning, and an uninteresting task. A curriculum should be
chosen out of freedom and where a students’ interests belong.
Maybe the recommendation brings some kind of an ease to the nation and the
institutions which have to design, work and enforce the same curriculum across the
country, such a curriculum can be devoted time to. Improvement in the curriculum
year after year can make it the most fine possible curriculum and the entire student
youth can be evaluated on the same curriculum. But there happens to be clear
things that are being missed in the claim. Regardless of the ease of carrying out a
singular national curriculum the amount of restriction it brings to the students of
the country is unimaginable.
Belonging from a country like India, it comes to mind such an action of enforcing a
single curriculum can have devastating effects on the youth. Leaving the students
of the country so far restricted and unable to explore the possibilities outside the
curriculum. Such a recommendation by far will lead to wide amount of failure in
development of the student's interest, inhibit their love and interest for stuff that
would have been better and well-suited for them. Taking away an option of
choosing a curriculum best suited for a child is as good as taking away their
freedom to learn and explore the fields they happen to take an interest in. And
diving back into the example where a large nation like India with such varying
cultures, languages and student upbringings can in no manner justify a singular
curriculum that is carried out nationwide.
The claim does not consider innumerous reasons as to why avoiding any such ideas
would be better for the nation. A single similar curriculum without any variations
when enforced can lead to inhibition of interest and growth amongst the students.
‘We as humans only strive for what we love most and not things that are being
shoved for us to do. Variety and change is necessary and we must alwavs keep in our minds that learning is a sacred process and not a rat race.