A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Policymakers around the world face the complex decision of whether to establish a national curriculum that is to be followed by all schools and students, or to allow more freedom for school to establish their own curriculum. There are positives and negatives for both sides of this arguments, as it is highly dependent on the values of the decision-maker. Whether a person values educational diversity or academic equality more, plays a critical role in this decision. While diversity of thought is important among schools, a uniform curriculum that ensures academic equality and standardization is key.

A uniform national curriculum promotes equal educational opportunities for all students, regardless of their socio-economic background. It is common to find students from different regions and socio-economic groups having drastically different educational levels and outcomes. Due to this, a national curriculum that is the same for these different students can bridge the opportunity gap between them. It is also important to recognize that this national curriculum may also have an unintended negative consequence, as it does not cater for indivdual needs as a more diverse curriculum might.

A standardized curriculum simplifies assesments and resource allocation for different schools and students. When the curriculum is different from school to school, it is more difficult for exams and teaching resources to be allocated equally as it will be highly dependent on the school itself. Therefore, when a national curriculum exists, these resources can be more equally distributed and exams standardized.

Educational diversity is important as it allows local cultures to have a say on the curriculums that their schools teach. The existence of a standardized national curriculum, however, does not necessarily mean that educational diversity while be overlooked. A national curriculum can exist as a standard among schools while integrating individualized aspects of the schools education.

A standardized national curriculum is important for a community and its education level as it allows for more standardized exams, equal allocation of recources, and equality of academic quality. This, however, does not mean the educational diversity must be stifled, as the integration of local culture and the individualization of certain aspects of education can exist with a national curriculum.